The Homer Senior Citizens entry was given Best of Show honors by the parade judges. - Courtesy Photo

Image 1 of 3 - Next Image >>

The award for Best Antique Cars went to Petro Marine. - Courtesy Photo

Image 2 of 3 - Next Image >>

Judges' Sentimental Favorite Abby Kane. - Courtesy Photo

Image 3 of 3 - Next Image >>

Send this article to Promobot

Chamber crowns winners of July 4th parade

July 14th, 2017 | Tommy Wells Print this article   Email this article  

There was no shortage of red, white and blue decorations — or winners — during last week during the annual July 4th Parade. The Homer Chamber of Commerce and Visitors Center made sure of that.

Chamber officials announced the winning entries from the annual parade on Monday, and expressed its gratitude to the countless volunteers that helped.

"The Homer Chamber of Commerce & Visitor Center would like to extend kudos and a very warm thank you to all the amazing volunteers and public servants who made the July 4th Parade a smashing success," said Homer Chamber of Commerce and Visitors Center Marketing Coordinator Bridget Maryott in a memo to the media. "Many accolades to the parade participants with over 40 entries and Parade attendees of all ages who lined Pioneer Avenue."

Among the big winners at the event was the Homer Senior Citizens entry. The group was awarded Best of Show honors by the parade judges.

Also receiving high praise from the judges were the American Legion Riders and Petro Marine. The American Legion Riders captured the Best Bike, Trike and Motorcycle award, while Petro Marine took first place in the Best Antique Car, Truck and Machinery division. Blooming Carriage won the Best Entry with Animals and Birds honors, while Abby Kane earned the Judge's Sentimental Favorite accolades.

The Best Children's Group award went to the Bee You To Full entry, while Queen Marine and Royal Entourage won the Best Adult Group award.

The parade was led by grand marshals Rita-Jo and Leroy Shoultz, who rode in the parade while seated in a helicopter with Eric Lee and Kirsten Rasmussen of Alaska Ultimate Safaris.

Tom Stroozas, a past chamber president served as the Master of Ceremonies for the parade. Judges for the 2017 parade were Kayh Fisk, Diana Rauh and Rachel Lugo-Sena.


Copyright 2018 The Homer Tribune is a publication of Alaska Media, LLC. This article is © 2018 and limited reproduction rights for personal use are granted for this printing only. This article, in any form, may not be further reproduced without written permission of the publisher and owner, including duplication for not-for-profit purposes. Portions of this article may belong to other agencies; those sections are reproduced here with permission and Alaska Media, LLC makes no provisions for further distribution.