Area students score $22,350 in scholarships

The Homer Foundation manages a variety of permanent endowment funds that provide for annual scholarship awards to area students.
“The scholarship funds illustrate the extreme generosity of our community, and the value it places on our youth and education,” said Homer Foundation Executive Director Joy Steward.
The Foundation recently announced the following awards:
The Homer Community Science Scholarship is awarded each year to one or more Homer High School graduating seniors to support post-secondary education in the life sciences. This year, Lauren Cashman received $1,000 to attend Pacific Lutheran University to study biology and chemistry.
In addition, Marie Schmidt received a $750 award to study environmental science, Dana Olesch $500 to study anthropology and biology and Sarah D’Water $500 to study dental hygiene.
The Alain and Daniel Rieser Scholarship is a $3,000 award that recognizes a Homer graduating senior with a flair for foreign language and an interest in foreign cultures. The award may be used for college or a self-directed travel/cultural immersion project. This year, the committee awarded a $3,000 scholarship to Dan Adickes to support his studies a Soka University of America and a second $1,500 travel award to Kaya Morelli to support travel to Patagonia, Chile and Argentina.
The Drew Scalzi Memorial Maritime Scholarship supports area students from local fishing families, or any student pursuing a career in a maritime industry. This year, Verinia Reutov of Voznesenka received $1,000 to support attendance at the Kenai Peninsula College, Kachemak Bay Branch. Shlomo Gherman of Homer received $500 toward his certification in industrial electricity at AVTEC.
The Beluga Writing Scholarships reward Homer graduating seniors who demonstrate exemplary skills in creative and nonfiction writing. This year, the $3,000 awards went to Kyle Wentz who will study geological engineering at UAF, and Mallory Drover, who will study nursing at Kenai Peninsula College/Kachemak Bay Branch.
The Diane Wambach “Shoot for the Stars” Scholarship is awarded yearly to area students most able to articulate their dream to pursue vocational or higher education. This year, the $500 award went to Aurora Roderick to attend KPC, Kachemak Bay Branch to get her CAN, and Fallin Crauthers to attend UAA to study social welfare and child development.
The Kachemak Bay Medical Clinic Scholarship seeks to recognize a local graduate who has both a strong academic standing, and a strong work ethic demonstrated by holding a job during their high school career. Homer graduating senior Rayann Clutts was selected for this year’s $2,000 award to study Pre-Pharmacy at Brigham Young University.
The Health Care Providers Scholarship supports local students committed to pursuing a career in a health care field, including prior year graduates. This year, four $500 scholarships were awarded as follows: Homer High graduates Mallory Drover (nursing) and Rayann Clutts (pre-pharmacy), KPBSD Connections graduate Jenna Kropf (nursing), and Marta Todd-Hashagen, formerly of Homer, completing her degree at John Hopkins School of Nursing.
The A.W. “Bill” Johnson Teacher Education Scholarship Fund was established by Liz Johnson in memory of her husband. Erik Rosencrans of Homer received $1,000 to support his studies at UAA, and then Concordia University of Wisconsin as he works toward his teaching degree.
The Alice Witte Memorial Scholarship Fund supports a Homer junior women’s volleyball team member with a $500 award to attend an outside summer volleyball camp. This year’s recipient, selected by coaching staff in January, was Zoia Basargin.
The Homer Foundation’s newest scholarship is the Constance M. Benston Music Scholarship to support secondary music education. The Foundation has partnered with the Homer Council on the Arts to provide the application/audition process. The first recipients of the award are Lydia Arndt, $550 for music/piano and Mariah Stuart, $550 for music/vocal.
A total of $22,350 in scholarships was awarded to these students, and would not be possible without the vision of the donors who established them, and on-going community support. The funds are permanent endowments, ensuring scholarship support for our young people far into the future.
Thanks to Homer High counselor Lin Hampson for her support throughout the process, and the many community volunteers who served on the scholarship review committees.
The Homer Foundation is a community foundation established to enhance the quality of life for the citizens of the greater Homer area by promoting philanthropic and charitable activities. Tax exempt donations to support these scholarships or any of the 43 funds may be directed to the Homer Foundation.

Contact the writer
Posted by on May 23rd, 2012 and filed under Youth. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Like us on Facebook